Day Off

Every time I go to my inbox on the new dating site I joined, there are at least 7 emails waiting. I seem to be checking it several times a day. It is like a new addiction. Some of the messages are ongoing conversations, some are new. Some guys are way too young. I just tell them right off the bat. Some guys are simply not attractive to me. I respond to their message by telling them I am sorry I’m getting a lot of emails right now. If I have even the slightest amount of interest in them, I will ask them to stay in touch. Otherwise, I am hoping that on a site with so many people, they will easily find another lady to go after. Some guys are way too persistent, to a dysfunctional degree. I have been called names that I don’t care to repeat, which doesn’t really phase me being that I work in the field of mental health, and am actually amused by just about anything which is outside the norm. It is interesting I must say that a guy can appear to be SO incredibly nice, until he has to come face to face with the fact that he is not going to get what he wants. It is a part of my decided character to be very direct and not take any crap. I don’t like being played. Well, sometimes I do, but that is another story. I will get to that later.

I look at the list of 7 new messages, and pick out a familiar name, and open that message first. Today I am picking the one from Shawn.  I have only a slight interest in him right now, although he does seem nice. What is most interesting to me is that he has invited me to come and watch him and a few other friends play drums on the boardwalk in Asbury Park. If I had any money at all, I could go tonight. But instead I have decided to go a week from today, next Tuesday. This will be my first sort of “date.” But it will be easy to keep it very casual, and not like a date, which appeals to me. Of course the need to be cautious cannot be overstated, and has been driven into me relentlessly by my large online social network, to the degree that I even got angry at them for treating me like some kind of a moron! However, I had to concede that they were as parents trying to help me. Although at 44 I don’t often find I need such parenting, their hearts were unquestionably in the right place.

The message from Shawn today was just a response to my previous inquiry regarding when they (he and his drumming friends) would be at the boardwalk in Belmar on Saturday. He just put down 6 – 10:30. So, I may go Saturday instead. I think I will get dressed up a little, and go without expectations, and just enjoy myself. Maybe I will meet a lot of people. Maybe I will end up just sitting on the beach looking out over the ocean. At any rate, I will be sure to tell you all about it.

The other messages were not of much interest. There is a nice guy from Long Branch who wants to meet me at one of his favorite places near the beach for happy hour. I may do that one day. There was a dinner invite from someone I don’t know. There were some guys who said things like “hey sexy.” That’s not usually a good sign. I hate to admit it but if I don’t sense any attraction whatsoever, I have just been moving on with no response at all. Again I am hoping that there are enough other fish on the site that they will not even be aware that I didn’t respond. Anyway, if you give a light brush off, some guys don’t get the hint. One guy continued to pursue me relentlessly one night, and was quite overbearing. When I told him I was uncomfortable about his persistence, he called me degrading and unrepeatable names, and said that I was a moron for leading him on. Always up for such a challenge, and willing to bet that I will easily be able to outwit such a guy, I told him that he was the moron for not being able to tell when a woman wasn’t interested in him. At this point I believe he blocked me, which simply kept me from having to do it to him first. Let me also remark that I have now I believe 12 men in my “dungeon” as I call it. We will talk about that later.

The rest of the day I’ll be checking email several times. As I said before, it seems to be my addiction for now. I am determined to not let it get in the way of more purposeful activities though, like working out at the gym, talking on the phone with valued friends, contacting business interests, etc. However, it is my day off. And who knows what interesting person could contact me at any time? I’m not sure that I can say exactly what I’m looking for. I think it is fair to say for now I am just looking forward to some great adventures, engaging conversations, and getting to spend time in some interesting locations, such as New York City. Yes, a couple guys have already suggested that I meet them there.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Todd
    Aug 07, 2012 @ 15:21:01

    Hey sexy

    Reply

  2. Valerie L. Parent
    Aug 07, 2012 @ 17:06:00

    It sounds like a beautiful area where you live. Enjoy your visit to the beach and listening to some music!

    Reply

  3. Veronica
    Aug 07, 2012 @ 17:29:06

    I think the beach sounds great. If you do decide to go meet Sean please make sure it’s very public. I’m all for meeting people off the internet as long as you are very careful. You are an amazing person and deserve to meet a wonderful man. I will check in every couple days to see how your search is going.
    Good Luck Katie 🙂

    Reply

  4. lisa
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 10:31:10

    Thank-You for the add Katie,,,this is very interesting,You will know when “that guy” comes along.Until then type on,,have a great day!

    Reply

  5. lauraloub
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 10:38:37

    My bet is that you will meet “someone” in a most accidentally way…like a policeman who gives you a ticket. That happened to one of my friends 40 years ago…they are still married.

    Reply

  6. mylifewithbpd
    Aug 18, 2012 @ 01:31:32

    I have always met everyone I have dated by pure chance when I was not looking for anyone at all. I stopped using personal sites as the whole not looking for someone seems to work better.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

